Canada’s 150th Anniversary

150 years ago, our forefathers wrestled with the question “How will we describe this vast new Canada of ours?” The term “Kingdom of Canada” was suggested, but that didn’t quite fit. Then, during one of his daily Bible readings, Samuel Tilley–one of the Fathers of Confederation–was struck by Psalm 72:8, “His dominion shall be also from sea to sea.” 150 years later, this same verse stands engraved on Parliament Hill’s Peace Tower–a reminder to all who visit Canada’s Parliament that God’s hand has indeed been over the Dominion of Canada ever since Confederation.

On July 1st, we gather as proud Canadians to celebrate the 150th anniversary of our great nation. I am thankful to be able to describe Canada as a prosperous, diverse, stable, caring, compassionate, and free country. It truly is a land of endless possibility, and strength.

On Canada Day we come together peacefully to honour the vision and core values of our forefathers, as we work together to build an even better, stronger Canada for future generations.

While the face of our nation may change, our core values remain: hard work, integrity, respect, self-sacrifice, and charity. These are values we must protect and maintain. Let us not forget as we celebrate Canada’s 150th birthday the solid foundations upon which we have built this great nation, and may we be people who remain steadfast in declaring “His dominion shall be from sea to sea” for another 150 years and beyond.

150e anniversaire du Canada

Il y a 150 ans, nos ancêtres se posaient la question : « Comment décrire ce nouveau vaste Canada qui est le nôtre? » L’expression « Royaume du Canada » est proposée, mais ne convient pas parfaitement. Puis, au cours de sa lecture quotidienne de la Bible, Samuel Tilley — un des Pères de la Confédération — tombe avec stupéfaction sur le psaume 72:8 : « Il dominera d’une mer à l’autre. » 150 ans plus tard, ce même verset est gravé sur la Tour de la Paix et rappelle à tous les visiteurs du Parlement du Canada que la main de Dieu domine effectivement sur le Canada depuis la Confédération.

Le 1er juillet, nous nous rassemblons, fiers Canadiens, pour célébrer le 150e anniversaire de notre grand pays. Je suis reconnaissant de pouvoir le qualifier de prospère, diversifié, stable, attentionné, empreint de compassion et libre. Le Canada est réellement une terre à la force et aux possibilités infinies.

À la fête du Canada, nous nous rassemblons pacifiquement pour rendre hommage à la vision et aux valeurs fondamentales de nos ancêtres en travaillant ensemble pour bâtir un Canada toujours meilleur et plus fort pour les générations à venir.

Le visage de la nation a beau changer, nos valeurs fondamentales demeurent les mêmes : rigueur, intégrité, respect, don de soi et charité. Ce sont les valeurs que nous devons protéger et maintenir. N’oublions pas en célébrant le 150e anniversaire du Canada les fondations solides sur lesquelles nous avons bâti ce grand pays, et soyons inébranlables en déclarant : « Il dominera d’une mer à l’autre » pendant encore 150 ans et plus.