Chinese Takeover of Canadian Technology

June 21, 2017

Governments around the world are very cautious when Chinese companies seek to take over western technology companies. The one exception seems to be the Canadian Government under Prime Minister Justin Trudeau.

With little or no scrutiny, the Liberal government is allowing the sale of Vancouver-based Norsat International Inc. to the Chinese company Hytera Communications. Norsat International owns patented satellite communications technology that has security, public safety, and defence applications. Norsat’s customers include the Pentagon and the Canadian Coast Guard. Shockingly, the Liberals refused to conduct a national security review of this potential takeover against the advice of national security experts.

Richard Fadden, a former head of the Canadian Security Intelligence Service, said that he would have “suggested a review out of an abundance of caution.”

University of British Columbia professor Michael Byers said it is “incomprehensible” that this takeover is not being subject to a national security review.

China’s Ambassador has suggested that national security reviews constitute “protectionism”. Judging by their actions, the Trudeau Government apparently agrees. However, Canadians did not elect this government under the expectation that Canada would become subordinate to Beijing and that China’s interests would be put ahead of Canadian interests, or those of its allies.

Further muddying the water is the Liberal Party’s history of holding exclusive fundraisers with Chinese billionaires with ties to China’s Communist Government. Questions remain over the donation from one of these Chinese businessmen, who shortly after a fundraiser with Justin Trudeau, donated $200,000 to the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation as well as $50,000 to build a statue of the former prime minister.

As the Official opposition, we call on Prime Minister Justin Trudeau to set aside his admiration for China’s basic dictatorship; respect Canada’s traditional allies and alliances, such as NATO and NORAD; and immediately undertake stringent national security reviews of this and any other proposed sale of Canadian technology to China.

Prise de contrôle d’une technologie canadienne par la Chine

Les gouvernements, dans le monde entier, font très attention quand des entreprises chinoises tentent de prendre le contrôle d’entreprises de technologie occidentales. La seule exception semble être le gouvernement canadien dirigé par le premier ministre Justin Trudeau.

Avec peu d’examen, voire aucun, le gouvernement libéral permet la vente d’une entreprise de Vancouver, Norsat International Inc., à l’entreprise chinoise Hytera Communications. Norsat International détient une technologie de communication satellite brevetée qui a des applications de sécurité publique et de défense. Les clients de Norsat sont entre autres le Pentagone et la Garde côtière canadienne. De façon choquante, les libéraux ont refusé de mener un examen de sécurité nationale de cette prise de contrôle potentielle, allant à l’encontre des conseils d’experts de la sécurité nationale.

Richard Fadden, un ancien responsable du Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité, a dit qu’il aurait « suggéré un examen afin de ne négliger aucune précaution ».
Le professeur à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique Michael Byers a dit qu’il est « incompréhensible » que cette prise de contrôle ne soit pas sujette à un examen de sécurité nationale.
L’ambassadeur de la Chine a laissé entendre que les examens de sécurité nationale constituaient du « protectionnisme ». Au vu de ses actes, le gouvernement Trudeau semble d’accord. Cependant, les Canadiens n’ont pas élu ce gouvernement pour que le Canada devienne subordonné à Beijing et pour que les intérêts de la Chine passent avant les intérêts du Canada ou de ses alliés.

Ce qui est encore plus troublant est la tendance du Parti libéral à tenir des appels de fonds exclusifs avec des milliardaires chinois liés au gouvernement communiste chinois. Des questions demeurent au sujet du don de l’un de ces hommes d’affaires chinois qui, peu après un appel de fonds avec Justin Trudeau, a donné 200 000 $ à la Fondation Pierre Elliott Trudeau, ainsi que 50 000 $ pour ériger une statue de l’ancien premier ministre.

À titre d’Opposition officielle, nous pressons le premier ministre Justin Trudeau de mettre de côté son admiration pour la dictature de base de la Chine, de respecter les alliés et les alliances traditionnels du Canada comme l’OTAN et le NORAD, et d’entreprendre immédiatement un examen de sécurité nationale rigoureux de cette vente de toute autre proposition de vente de technologies canadiennes à la Chine.