Christmas Greetings

The House of Commons concluded its Fall session on Wednesday, December 13th and with the parliamentary recess now underway, I am thankful to be spending more time with family and in communities across southeast Manitoba meeting with constituents.

As I reflect on some of the key issues from this past session, I am encouraged that the House of Commons voted to keep the Criminal Code protection for religious officials and worship. The Liberal Government had initially proposed to remove the section that outlines these legal protections, but due to the overwhelming opposition from Canadians across the country, including many here in Provencher, the Liberal Government conceded to keep the protection in the Criminal Code.

At the same time, much remains to be done as we look ahead to 2018. Canada is a nation founded upon principles that recognize the supremacy of God and the rule of law. We must continually recognize the absolutes of good and evil, right and wrong. Let us commit to re-embrace the principles that have made Canada great.

As we celebrate Christmas and 2017 draws to a close, let us reflect on all that we have to be thankful for in our lives. It is all too easy to become discouraged and overwhelmed by the tragic events we experience and see in the world. Thankfully, with the Christmas season comes a beautiful promise – a promise of a greater comfort and peace – a peace that surpasses all understanding.

While we gather together in our homes to spend time with family and friends, let’s recall the many blessings we enjoy as Canadians and commit to pray for those who are searching for light and peace this Christmas.

I wish you a wonderful time of celebration with those you love and may the miracle of Christ’s birth fill your hearts with peace and joy.

From my family to yours, I wish you a very Merry Christmas and a happy New Year. I look forward to bringing the comments and concerns I hear from you over the parliamentary recess back to Ottawa in January 2018.

Message de Noël

La Chambre des communes a conclu sa session d’automne le mercredi 13 décembre dernier, et, maintenant que la relâche parlementaire est entamée, je suis heureux de pouvoir passer plus de temps avec ma famille et mes concitoyens du Sud-Est du Manitoba.

Quand je pense aux principaux enjeux de la dernière session, je suis encouragé que la Chambre des communes ait voté en faveur du maintien de la protection des autorités religieuses et des offices religieux. Le gouvernement libéral avait initialement proposé de retirer du Code criminel l’article énonçant ces protections juridiques, mais devant la vive opposition des Canadiens de partout au pays, notamment de Provencher, il a fait marche arrière.

Par ailleurs, il reste encore beaucoup à faire à l’approche de 2018. Le Canada est un pays fondé sur des principes reconnaissant la suprématie de Dieu et la primauté du droit. Nous devons reconnaître continuellement les absolus du bien et du mal. Engageons-nous à adhérer aux principes qui font du Canada un pays formidable.

Alors que nous nous apprêtons à célébrer Noël et que l’année 2017 tire à sa fin, il est bon de réfléchir à tout ce que nous avons qui mérite notre gratitude. Il est trop facile de se décourager et de se sentir dépassé par les tragédies que nous vivons et dont nous sommes témoins dans le monde. Heureusement, le temps des Fêtes est synonyme d’une magnifique promesse – de réconfort et de paix, une paix qui dépasse l’entendement.

Au moment de nous réunir avec nos proches, rappelons-nous la grande chance que nous avons de vivre au Canada et prions pour ceux qui cherchent la lumière et la paix à Noël.

Je vous souhaite un merveilleux temps des Fêtes avec les personnes que vous chérissez. Que le miracle de la naissance de Jésus remplisse vos cœurs de paix et de joie.

Ma famille et moi vous souhaitons un très joyeux Noël et une bonne et heureuse année. Je suis enthousiaste à l’idée de porter votre voix à Ottawa au retour de la relâche parlementaire en janvier 2018.