Justice Denied

March 14, 2017

A growing number of judicial vacancies are contributing to an even greater number of serious criminal cases being thrown out of court. This is a crisis that requires swift action from the Liberal Government, but instead we’ve seen months of inaction only serving to worsen the situation.

Currently, there are 60 vacancies for federally appointed judges across the country. Since the Supreme Court of Canada’s 2016 ruling in R. v. Jordan, lawyers have sought to suspend more than 800 criminal cases for unreasonable delay. More than a dozen murder, attempted murder, and manslaughter cases are included in this number. Other serious offences such as sexual assault and drug trafficking are going unpunished as well.

During their first year in government, the Liberals appointed only 34 Superior Court judges. The previous year, our Conservative Government made 96 appointments to the Superior Court. Filling vacancies in a timely manner ensured that criminal cases, especially the most serious cases, were properly addressed by the courts. So why are the Liberals waiting?

The answer, it seems, is that the Minister of Justice, Jody Wilson-Raybould, is not taking this seriously. She waited until June, eight months into her job, before filling a handful of vacancies. Since that time, she has not made any appointments. This resulted in serious criminal cases being thrown out due to delay and thousands more cases across Canada could be tossed out while she continues to do nothing. She needs to go beyond words and actually appoint judges.

Our previous Conservative Government believed that criminals, not their victims, should be punished for their crimes. As long as the Liberal Government neglects its responsibility to fill these vacancies, criminals will be back on our streets free to offend again, re-victimizing those who’ve already suffered much at the hands of criminals. This is unacceptable. The Minister of Justice owes it to victims of crime, and indeed all Canadians, to act now and fill the vacancies.

Justice refusée

Un nombre croissant de postes de juge vacants fait en sorte que de plus en plus de causes pénales graves sont annulées. C’est une crise qui appelle une intervention rapide du gouvernement libéral. Au lieu, nous avons assisté à des mois d’inaction qui n’ont fait qu’aggraver la situation.

À l’heure actuelle, à l’échelle nationale, 60 postes de juge attendent la nomination d’un titulaire par le gouvernement fédéral. Depuis l’arrêt de la Cour suprême du Canada en 2016 dans l’affaire R. c. Jordan, des avocats ont tenté de faire annuler plus de 800 affaires pénales pour cause de retards déraisonnables. De ce nombre, plus d’une douzaine concerne des affaires de meurtre, de tentative de meurtre et d’homicide involontaire. D’autres infractions graves telles que des agressions sexuelles et le trafic de stupéfiants restent impunies également.

Au cours de leur première année au pouvoir, les libéraux n’ont nommé que 34 juges aux cours supérieures. L’année précédente, notre gouvernement conservateur avait effectué 96 nominations aux cours supérieures. Les postes vacants ayant été dotés en temps opportun, les affaires pénales, surtout les plus graves, ont été instruites comme il se doit par les tribunaux. Alors, qu’attendent les libéraux?

Il semblerait que la ministre de la Justice, Jody Wilson-Raybould, ne prend pas la situation au sérieux. Elle a attendu jusqu’en juin, soit huit mois après son entrée en fonction, pour pourvoir à une poignée de postes vacants. Depuis, elle n’a effectué aucune nomination. Résultat : de graves affaires pénales ont été annulées à cause de retards, et des milliers d’autres affaires pourraient l’être également pendant qu’elle reste à ne rien faire. Elle doit aller au-delà des mots et procéder à la nomination de juges.

Le gouvernement conservateur antérieur croyait à la nécessité de punir les criminels et non les victimes. Tant et aussi longtemps que le gouvernement libéral négligera sa responsabilité de pourvoir à ces postes vacants, des criminels se retrouveront en liberté et pourront commettre de nouvelles infractions et victimiser à nouveau ceux qui ont déjà tant souffert aux mains de criminels. C’est inacceptable. La ministre de la Justice doit aux victimes de crimes, et à tous les Canadiens, d’agir tout de suite pour doter les postes vacants.