Justin Trudeau’s Policies on Religious Protections One Giant, Inconsistent Mess

In June, the Liberal Government introduced a seemingly innocuous bill in the House of Commons, Bill C-51. However, contained within this bill was one particular clause which I and my fellow Conservatives have found very disturbing.

Clause 14 of the bill proposes to remove section 176 of the Criminal Code – a section which provides protections for clergy and parishioners partaking in religious services. If passed without amendment, Bill C-51 would remove the only explicit protection that exists in the criminal code against acts that interfere with clergy and disturb religious worship meetings. This should be alarming whether you choose to profess religious faith or not.

The Liberal Government has argued that the various elements contained in section 176 are limited to clergymen or ministers in the Christian faith, and it is not inclusive of other religious leaders.

I find their claim very misleading. There is no reason a court couldn’t use this section to protect clergy and people of ALL faiths. But even if they were correct, why choose to eliminate the section entirely instead of simply rewriting it to be both easier to prove AND more inclusive?

This, in light of the fact that back in February it was this same Liberal Government that proposed Motion M-103 which called on the government to, among other things, “condemn Islamophobia and all forms of systemic racism and religious discrimination.”

Although I certainly agree with the condemnation of unjust discrimination toward all people of faith, I could not support this motion because it singles out Islamophobia by name. This motion certainly was not focused on inclusivity.

In response to Motion M-103, our Conservative opposition introduced a far more balanced and inclusive motion which condemns “systemic racism, religious intolerance and discrimination of Muslims, Jews, Christians, Sikhs, Hindus, and other religious communities.” Sadly, every Liberal Member of Parliament in attendance voted against the more balanced and inclusive motion we put forward.

So, this begs the question; why did the Liberals support special protection for ONE group (Islam) with Motion M-103, but are now committed to repealing section 176 because they argue that it only offers special protection to ONE religion (Christians)? Who’s next?

How do Liberal MPs justify that inconsistency?

Religious freedom is one of Canada’s fundamental freedoms and the federal government should do all it can to uphold and protect it.

At a time when we’re hearing more and more about attacks on religious communities across Canada, this proposal is a step in the wrong direction. Help me keep the pressure on the Liberals to do the right thing by contacting the Minister of Justice, Jody Wilson-Raybould, at mcu@justice.gc.ca.

Retirer la protection de la liberté de religion

En juin, le gouvernement libéral a déposé à la Chambre des communes le projet de loi C-51 d’apparence anodin. Toutefois, mes collègues conservateurs et moi sommes profondément troublés par un article en particulier.

L’article 14 du projet de loi propose l’abrogation de l’article 176 du Code criminel, soit un article qui offre des protections aux membres du clergé et aux paroissiens qui participent à des offices religieux. Si le projet de loi C-51 est adopté tel quel, plus rien dans le Code criminel n’interdira les gestes visant à gêner un membre du clergé et à troubler des offices religieux. Cette réalité est alarmante, qu’on l’on choisisse de professer sa foi ou non.

Le gouvernement libéral prétend que les divers éléments de l’article 176 se limitent aux ministres du Culte ou aux membres du clergé de la foi chrétienne et n’incluent donc pas les autres chefs religieux.

Je trouve cet argument trompeur. Rien n’empêche un tribunal d’invoquer cet article pour protéger le clergé et les gens de TOUTES les confessions. Même si les libéraux avaient raison, pourquoi éliminer l’article au lieu de simplement le réécrire afin de le rendre plus inclusif ET plus simple à prouver?

Surtout quand on pense qu’en février, ce même gouvernement libéral proposait la motion M 103, qui demandait au gouvernement, notamment, de « condamner l’islamophobie et toutes les formes de racisme et de discrimination religieuse systémiques ».

Je suis d’accord avec le fait de condamner toute discrimination injuste envers les gens de toutes les confessions, mais je ne pouvais pas appuyer cette motion puisqu’elle nomme expressément l’islamophobie. Cette motion n’était certainement pas empreinte d’inclusion.

En réponse à la motion M-103, l’opposition conservatrice a présenté une motion beaucoup plus inclusive et équilibrée, qui condamne « toutes formes de racisme systémique, d’intolérance religieuse et de discrimination à l’égard des musulmans, des juifs, des chrétiens, des sikhs, des hindous et des autres communautés religieuses ». Malheureusement, chaque député libéral présent a voté contre.

Alors, pourquoi les libéraux, qui ont préconisé une protection spéciale pour UN SEUL groupe (musulmans) avec la motion M-103, sont-ils maintenant déterminés à abroger l’article 176 sous prétexte qu’il ne protège qu’UNE SEULE religion (chrétiens)? Qui seront les prochains?

Comment les députés libéraux expliquent-ils cette incohérence?

La liberté de religion est l’une des libertés fondamentales du Canada, et le gouvernement fédéral devrait se faire un devoir de la respecter et de la protéger.

À un moment où les attaques contre des communautés religieuses au Canada se multiplient, cette proposition est un pas dans la mauvaise direction.