Looking Back, Looking Forward

The House of Commons breathed a collective sigh of relief as the spring parliamentary session concluded on June 21, 2017. With the summer recess now underway, I’m thankful to be spending more time in communities across southeast Manitoba meeting with constituents both formally and informally. Returning home has also allowed me the opportunity to reflect on some of the key issues from this past session.

In January, we called Prime Minister Trudeau to account for his lavish $130,000 vacation on a private island in the Bahamas, hosted by a “friend” whose foundation has received $55 million from the Trudeau government. This, and the Trudeau cash-for-access scandal where lobbyists – including Chinese businessman and advisor to the Chinese Government, Zhang Bin, (who also made a $1-million donation to the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation) paid $1500 a person for direct access to the Prime Minister and cabinet members, caused Mary Dawson, the federal Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, to launch an investigation into the Prime Minister’s activities. This is the first time a sitting Prime Minister has ever been investigated by the Ethic’s Commissioner. Prime Minister Trudeau has refused to tell Canadians whether he has met with the Commissioner, a serious concern given the gravity of the accusations and considering his stated goal of improving his Liberal Government’s transparency. No one begrudges the Prime Minister for taking a holiday, but he chose to ignore the ethics rules in place and that’s just wrong.

Earlier this year, Prime Minister Trudeau tweeted several reckless messages that led many to believe that entering Canada through the proper channels is just a suggestion. Hundreds of illegal migrants have poured into border communities like Emerson since that time. Don’t get me wrong, Canada is a generous and accepting country and should continue to welcome refugees fleeing war, violence, or persecution. However, we must always consider our national security and do our due diligence to make sure we know who is entering our country, where they are entering and why. I visited Emerson several times since the increase in illegal border crossings, and have witnessed the concern and frustration of our border officers as they deal with the repercussions of our Prime Minister’s reckless tweets. The Liberal government needs to address this ongoing issue and protect our borders.‎

As we look ahead to the fall session of Parliament, our new Conservative leader Andrew Scheer and our team will continue to stand up for everyday Canadians. We will strengthen efforts to hold this Liberal government to account for raising taxes, introducing policies that have stalled job growth, and the Prime Minister’s questionable ethics. I look forward to bringing the comments and concerns I hear from you over the course of the summer back to Ottawa in the fall.

Regard en arrière, regard vers l’avant

La Chambre des communes a poussé un soupir de soulagement collectif quand la session parlementaire du printemps s’est terminée le 21 juin 2017. La relâche estivale est maintenant en cours et je suis content de passer plus de temps dans les communautés du sud-est du Manitoba, rencontrant les électeurs de façon formelle et informelle. Le retour à la maison me permet également de réfléchir à certains enjeux clés de la dernière session parlementaire.

En janvier, nous avons demandé des comptes au premier ministre Trudeau pour ses luxueuses vacances de 130 000 $ sur une île privée dans les Bahamas, chez un « ami » dont la fondation a reçu 55 millions de dollars du gouvernement Trudeau. Ces vacances, et le scandale des appels de fonds avec accès au comptant où des lobbyistes – dont l’homme d’affaires chinois et conseiller du gouvernement chinois Zhang Bin (qui a fait un don d’un million de dollars à la Fondation Pierre Elliott Trudeau) – ont payé 1 500 $ par personne pour avoir un accès direct au premier ministre et à des ministres du cabinet, ont poussé Mary Dawson, la commissaire fédérale aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique, à lancer une enquête sur les activités du premier ministre. C’est la première fois qu’un premier ministre en poste fait l’objet d’une enquête par un commissaire à l’éthique. Le premier ministre Trudeau refuse de dire aux Canadiens s’il a rencontré la commissaire, une préoccupation sérieuse compte tenu de la gravité des accusations et de sa volonté déclarée d’améliorer la transparence de son gouvernement libéral. Personne ne reproche au premier ministre de prendre des vacances, mais il a choisi d’ignorer les règles d’éthique existantes, et c’est mal.

Plus tôt cette année, le premier ministre Trudeau a diffusé sur Twitter plusieurs messages irresponsables qui ont porté de nombreux gens à croire qu’il n’est pas vraiment nécessaire d’entrer au Canada par les voies légales. Depuis, des centaines de migrants illégaux ont envahi des communautés frontalières comme Emerson. Comprenez-moi bien, le Canada est un pays généreux et accueillant, et il devrait continuer à accueillir les réfugiés qui fuient la guerre, la violence ou la persécution. Cependant, nous devons toujours tenir compte de notre sécurité nationale et faire preuve de diligence pour assurer que nous savons qui entre dans notre pays, à quel endroit et pourquoi. J’ai visité Emerson à plusieurs reprises depuis l’augmentation des passages illégaux, et j’ai vu l’inquiétude et la frustration de nos agents frontaliers alors qu’ils subissent les répercussions des messages irresponsables du premier ministre. Le gouvernement libéral doit régler ce problème et protéger nos frontières.‎

Alors que nous nous préparons à la session automnale au Parlement, notre nouveau chef conservateur Andrew Scheer et notre équipe vont continuer à défendre les Canadiens. Nous allons redoubler d’efforts pour demander des comptes à ce gouvernement pour ses hausses fiscales et ses politiques qui freinent la création d’emplois, et pour l’éthique douteuse du premier ministre. Je suis prêt à rapporter à Ottawa cet automne les commentaires et les préoccupations dont vous me ferez part au cours de l’été.