Removing Protection of Religious Freedom

Conservatives are disturbed that the Liberal Government is proposing to repeal section 176 of the Criminal Code that gives specific protections to individuals to practice their religion – regardless of what that religion may be – without fear of interference and obstruction. The Liberal Government introduced Bill C-51 as the House of Commons drew to a close in June, and I would like to draw your attention to one particularly concerning clause in the bill. Clause 14 of the new bill proposes to remove the following section of the Criminal Code:

176 (1) Everyone who
(a) by threats or force, unlawfully obstructs or prevents or endeavours to obstruct or prevent a clergyman or minister from celebrating divine service or performing any other function in connection with his calling, or
(b) knowing that a clergyman or minister is about to perform, is on his way to perform or is returning from the performance of any of the duties or functions mentioned in paragraph (a) (i) assaults or offers any violence to him, or (ii) arrests him on a civil process, or under the pretence of executing a civil process, is guilty of an indictable offence and liable to imprisonment for a term not exceeding two years.
(2) Everyone who wilfully disturbs or interrupts an assemblage of persons met for religious worship or for a moral, social or benevolent purpose is guilty of an offence punishable on summary conviction.
(3) Everyone who, at or near a meeting referred to in subsection (2), wilfully does anything that disturbs the order or solemnity of the meeting is guilty of an offence punishable on summary conviction.

By repealing this section in Bill C-51, the Liberals will be removing the only provision in the Criminal Code that directly protects the rights of individuals to practice their religion free from interference and obstruction.

At a time when news stories are increasingly reporting attacks on religious communities in Canada, this proposal greatly concerns me. I have to stand up for the rights of my constituents and all Canadians to practice their religion without fear of violence or disturbance.

Canadians must be free to practice their religion without fear. The removal of these protections sets a dangerous precedent for something so important to Canadians.

Conservatives call upon the Liberal Government to stand up for the democratic rights of Canadians and support this fundamental freedom.

It’s important to let the sponsor of this bill, Minister of Justice Jody Wilson-Raybould, know that Canadians are concerned about this proposal. I encourage you to contact her with your comments by email at mcu@justice.gc.ca or by mail at:

The Honourable Jody Wilson-Raybould
Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada
284 Wellington Street
Ottawa, ON K1A 0H8

Enlever la protection de la liberté de religion

Les conservateurs trouvent inquiétant que le gouvernement libéral propose d’abroger l’article 176 du Code criminel, qui accorde des protections précises à certaines personnes lorsqu’elles pratiquent leur religion, quelle qu’elle soit, sans crainte d’ingérence et d’obstruction. Le gouvernement libéral a présenté le projet de loi C­51 avant la fin des travaux à la Chambre des communes, en juin. J’attire votre attention sur un article préoccupant du nouveau projet de loi. L’article 14 propose de supprimer l’article suivant du Code criminel :

176 (1) Est coupable d’un acte criminel et passible d’un emprisonnement maximal de deux ans quiconque, selon le cas :
a) par menaces ou violence, illicitement gêne ou tente de gêner un membre du clergé ou un ministre du culte dans la célébration du service divin ou l’accomplissement d’une autre fonction se rattachant à son état, ou l’empêche ou tente de l’empêcher d’accomplir une telle célébration ou de remplir une telle autre fonction;
b) sachant qu’un membre du clergé ou un ministre du culte est sur le point d’accomplir, ou est en route pour accomplir une fonction mentionnée à l’alinéa a), ou revient de l’accomplir : (i) ou bien se porte à des voies de fait ou manifeste de la violence contre lui, (ii) ou bien l’arrête sur un acte judiciaire au civil ou sous prétexte d’exécuter un tel acte.
(2) Est coupable d’une infraction punissable sur déclaration de culpabilité par procédure sommaire quiconque, volontairement, trouble ou interrompt une assemblée de personnes réunies pour des offices religieux ou pour un objet moral ou social ou à des fins de bienfaisance.
(3) Est coupable d’une infraction punissable sur déclaration de culpabilité par procédure sommaire quiconque, à une assemblée mentionnée au paragraphe (2) ou près des lieux d’une telle assemblée, fait volontairement quelque chose qui en trouble l’ordre ou la solennité.

En abrogeant cet article du projet de loi C­51, les libéraux supprimeront la seule disposition du Code criminel qui protège directement les droits des personnes de pratiquer leur religion, sans interférence et obstruction.

À une époque où les attaques perpétrées contre les communautés religieuses au Canada font de plus en plus l’actualité, cette proposition me préoccupe grandement. Je dois défendre les droits des résidants de ma circonscription et de tous les Canadiens de pratiquer leur religion sans crainte de récrimination, de violence et de perturbation.

Les Canadiens doivent être libres de pratiquer leur religion, sans crainte. Le retrait de ces protections accrues établit un dangereux précédent pour ce qui est très cher aux yeux des Canadiens.

Les conservateurs demandent au gouvernement libéral de défendre les droits démocratiques des Canadiens et de soutenir cette liberté fondamentale.

Il est important d’informer la marraine de ce projet de loi, la ministre de la Justice, Jody Wilson Raybould, que la population trouve cette proposition inquiétante. Je vous encourage à lui transmettre vos commentaires, par courriel, à l’adresse mcu@justice.gc.ca ou par courrier ordinaire, à l’adresse suivante :

L’honorable Jody Wilson-Raybould
Ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada
284, rue Wellington
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H8