Throne Speech Fails to Unify

After six weeks of Justin Trudeau’s post-election vacation and so-called consultations, Canadians expected to see a government that had learned from its mistakes. A government that would work to heal regional divides. To strengthen our position on the world stage. To get Canadians back to work in hard hit regions. To finally give hope to the millions of Canadians who feel abandoned by Justin Trudeau.

Instead, they got more of the same from a Prime Minister who spouts symbolism over substance and prefers platitudes to concrete plans.

The speech made no mention of a plan to balance the budget. No mention of a plan to restore ethics and accountability to government. No mention of support for Canadian forestry or energy workers. And most concerning of all, no mention of national unity.

Our message to Canadians is this: There is still a party in Canada that is fighting for you. There is still a party in Canada that believes in putting your needs ahead of their wants. There is still a party that hasn’t given up on the idea that Canada is stronger when we work together. Canada’s Conservatives are here to serve Canadians.

If the Liberals are willing to work together with us, we are ready to get to work, but we will not prop up Justin Trudeau’s failed agenda. Especially not at the expense of national unity or the plight of Canadian families struggling to get by.

I will continue to work hard for you as your common sense voice in Ottawa, serving Provencher and helping hold this Liberal government to account.

Le discours du Trône est un échec pour l’unité nationale

Après six semaines de vacances postélectorales pour Justin Trudeau et de soi-disant consultations, les Canadiens s’attendaient à voir un gouvernement qui a appris de ses erreurs. Un gouvernement qui cherche à éliminer les divisions régionales. À renforcer notre position sur la scène mondiale. À remettre les Canadiens au travail dans les régions durement touchées. À enfin donner espoir aux millions de Canadiens qui se sentent abandonnés par Justin Trudeau.

Au lieu de cela, nous avons plus de la même chose de la part d’un premier ministre qui fait passer le symbolisme avant la substance et qui préfère les platitudes aux plans concrets.

Le discours du Trône ne faisait pas mention d’un plan pour l’équilibre budgétaire. Il ne faisait pas mention d’un plan pour rétablir l’éthique et la responsabilisation au gouvernement. Il ne faisait pas mention d’un soutien pour les travailleurs de la foresterie ou de l’énergie. Et, point le plus préoccupant, il ne faisait pas mention de l’unité nationale.

Notre message aux Canadiens est le suivant : Il y a toujours un parti au Canada qui se bat pour vous. Il y a toujours un parti au Canada qui veut faire passer vos besoins avant ses intérêts. Il y a toujours un parti qui croit encore que le Canada est plus fort quand nous travaillons ensemble. Les conservateurs du Canada sont là pour servir les Canadiens.

Si les libéraux sont prêts à collaborer avec nous, nous sommes prêts à nous mettre au travail, mais nous n’allons promouvoir l’ordre du jour d’échec de Justin Trudeau. Surtout pas aux dépens de l’unité nationale ou du sort des familles canadiennes qui luttent pour s’en sortir.

Je vais continuer à travailler fort pour vous à Ottawa, servant Provencher et demandant des comptes à ce gouvernement libéral.