Where Will It End?

The Liberal government has introduced a troubling new eligibility requirement for organizations looking to take advantage of the Canada Summer Jobs (CSJ) program.

The CSJ program provides funding to assist employers, including not-for-profit organizations, that create summer job opportunities for full-time students. It’s a win-win situation: students benefit by gaining valuable employment and work experience and communities benefit from the important services provided by these organizations. But for many organizations in southeast Manitoba, this essential support will be held back thanks to a new Liberal policy.

In the days leading up to Christmas, the Trudeau Liberals quietly changed the rules of the CSJ program to require applicants to sign an attestation agreeing with their government’s ideological positions or be rejected for government funding. This is a deeply concerning development and Canadians should be extremely skeptical of a government that is basing funding decisions on whether or not you hold the same beliefs and values as they do.

So what exactly are we talking about here? In order to be eligible, an applicant is required to agree that both the job and the organization’s core mandate respect individual human rights in Canada, including the values underlying the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms as well as other rights. These include “reproductive rights” and the right to be free from discrimination on the basis of sex, religion, race, national or ethnic origin, colour, mental or physical disability or sexual orientation, or gender identity or expression.

While it’s easy to agree with most of this statement, the Liberals are overstepping by forcing Canadians to endorse values that aren’t actually included in the Charter, such as ‘REPRODUCTIVE RIGHTS’ – or in plain words: ABORTION.

As a pluralistic society, Canada allows for diverse opinions and protects those who may think differently than those in positions of power. In fact, the right to freedom of belief and opinion is guaranteed by the Charter. For all their talk about being the ‘Party of the Charter,’ the Liberals should be the first to recognize that they’re violating its most fundamental principle with their actions. If the Liberals are forcing Canadians to pass their ‘values test’ in order to receive CSJ funding today, what’s next? Will Canadians have to agree with the Liberals’ views to get their pensions when they retire? To receive certain tax credits or student loans? To get help with their Employment Insurance when they visit a Service Canada centre? Where will it end?

This change also hurts students who are looking for work during the summer months. Instead of limiting job opportunities for students, the Liberals should be encouraging more employers to hire them.

If your organization is effected by this discriminatory Liberal change, I urge you to submit your application anyway with a brief note explaining that in good conscience you are unable to sign the attestation. Please inform my office of your application and your inability to sign the attestation by emailing Ted.Falk.C1@parl.gc.ca so that I can work to ensure no one is punished for holding to different convictions than the Trudeau Liberals. I also want to encourage everyone – whether you’re impacted directly or not – to contact the Minister of Employment Patricia Hajdu at Patty.Hajdu@parl.gc.ca and Prime Minister Trudeau at pm@pm.gc.ca to let them know that you won’t stand for these dangerous changes.

You can be assured that I will continue to fight every step of the way to preserve Canada’s foundational beliefs and practices.

Où cela s’arrêtera-t-il?

Le gouvernement libéral vient d’adopter un inquiétant critère d’admissibilité pour les organismes désireux de se prévaloir du programme Emplois d’été Canada (EÉC).

Le programme EÉC finance les employeurs, y compris ceux d’organismes à but non lucratif, qui créent des possibilités d’emplois d’été pour les étudiants à temps plein. Tout le monde est gagnant : les étudiants profitent d’une expérience de travail précieuse et les collectivités profitent des services importants offerts par ces organismes. Toutefois, pour de nombreux organismes du Sud-Est du Manitoba, cet appui essentiel sera retenu grâce à une nouvelle politique des libéraux.

Dans les jours qui ont précédé Noël, les libéraux de Trudeau ont subrepticement changé les règles du programme EÉC en demandant aux requérants de signer une attestation dans laquelle ils acceptent les positions idéologiques du gouvernement, faute de quoi ils ne seront pas financés. Voilà un développement très inquiétant qui devrait amener les Canadiens à se méfier d’un gouvernement qui fonde ses décisions de financement sur le fait d’avoir ou non les mêmes croyances et les mêmes valeurs que lui.

De quoi s’agit-il exactement? Afin d’être admissible, un requérant est forcé de convenir que les fonctions de l’emploi et le mandat fondamental de l’organisation sont conformes aux valeurs qui sous tendent la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et d’autres droits, dont les « droits génésiques » et le droit d’être protégé de toute discrimination fondée sur le sexe, la religion, la race, l’origine nationale ou ethnique, la couleur, les déficiences mentales ou physiques ou l’orientation sexuelle, ou encore l’identité ou l’expression de genre.

S’il est facile d’être d’accord sur la plupart des points mentionnés, les libéraux vont trop loin en obligeant les Canadiens à embrasser des valeurs, qui ne figurent pas dans la Charte, comme les « droits génésiques » ou, en langage clair, l’avortement.

En tant que société pluraliste, le Canada autorise les opinions diverses et protège ceux qui pourraient avoir des positions différentes de celles des autorités. En fait, la liberté de confession et d’opinion est garantie par la Charte. Au lieu de se vanter sans cesse d’être le « Parti de la Charte », les libéraux feraient mieux de reconnaître qu’en agissant ainsi, ils en violent le principe le plus fondamental. Si les libéraux obligent aujourd’hui les Canadiens à réussir à leur « test sur les valeurs » pour être financés au titre du programme EÉC, qu’exigeront-ils demain? Devra-t-on être d’accord avec les libéraux pour pouvoir toucher sa retraite? Pour bénéficier de certains crédits d’impôt ou de prêts étudiants? Pour obtenir de l’aide de l’assurance-emploi dans un centre de Service Canada? Où cela s’arrêtera-t-il?

Ce changement nuit en outre aux étudiants qui cherchent à travailler pendant l’été. Au lieu de restreindre les possibilités d’emploi pour les étudiants, les libéraux devraient encourager davantage d’employeurs à en engager.

Si votre organisme est touché par ce changement discriminatoire des libéraux, je vous exhorte à soumettre tout de même votre demande accompagnée d’une note expliquant qu’en toute conscience, vous ne pouvez pas signer l’attestation. En l’occurrence, je vous invite à en aviser mon bureau par courriel à l’adresse Ted.Falk.C1@parl.gc.ca. Je m’efforcerai de faire en sorte que personne ne soit puni pour avoir des convictions différentes de celles des libéraux de Trudeau. Par ailleurs, je vous encourage tous – que vous soyez ou non touchés par cette mesure – à prendre contact avec la ministre de l’Emploi Patricia Hajdu à l’adresse Patty.Hajdu@parl.gc.ca et avec le premier ministre Trudeau à pm@pm.gc.ca pour leur faire savoir que vous n’acceptez pas ces changements dangereux.

Je peux vous assurer que je n’aurai de cesse de lutter pour préserver les convictions et pratiques fondamentales du Canada.