Businesses Still Waiting

Despite recent attempts by the Liberal government to stifle the voice of Canada’s Official Opposition, Canada’s Conservatives are working hard to hold the government accountable during these trying times.

We are striving to work with the Liberal government, but working together does not mean we cease to question the government’s actions.

The Liberal government has made many promises in recent weeks, constituting more than $130 billion in new deficit spending, to help those affected by COVID-19. While some of that money has started to flow, too many Canadians are still being left behind.

A particular area of concern is our local businesses.

Small and medium-size businesses employ some 70% of Canada’s workforce. Millions of Canadians are worried about wage cuts and layoffs. Businesses, both large and small, need support to ensure they can stay in business during and after the pandemic.

The Liberal government announced the Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy (CEWS) as a measure to help keep businesses afloat. This measure would see the Federal Government subsidize 75% of wages for companies that have lost, or expect to lose, 30% of their revenue as a result of COVID-19. This would ensure businesses can afford to keep their employees, but, weeks later, businesses have yet to see that help materialize.

On Tuesday, the Prime Minster finally announced that applications for the CEWS would open next week – but even then, businesses won’t see any money flowing until next month.

Many businesses have been closed for over a month already, and some may never re-open.

Canadians’ lives and livelihoods depend on how the government responds to this crisis.

With both the Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB), and the CEWS, parliamentarians had to return to Ottawa twice to fix mistakes and holes in the Liberals’ proposed legislation. These issues were largely due to discrepancies between what Justin Trudeau announced and what was actually in the legislation. This happened despite Conservatives having raised concerns about those very issues and being assured they had been dealt with.

A small business on the verge of bankruptcy can’t wait weeks for the government’s wage subsidy, and then even longer to make sure they got it right.

The COVID-19 pandemic is a national public health crisis to be sure, but it does not constitute a free pass or blank cheque for government. Nor is it an excuse to circumvent Parliament and our democratic processes. In order to ensure that Canadians get the real help they need, there must be oversight and accountability.

If your business qualifies for the CEWS you can apply, starting Monday, at Canada.ca.

Les entreprises toujours en attente

Même si le gouvernement libéral a tenté plusieurs fois de museler l’Opposition officielle, les conservateurs du Canada travaillent sans relâche pour que le gouvernement rende des comptes durant cette période difficile.

Nous nous efforçons de travailler avec le gouvernement libéral, mais cette collaboration ne nous empêche pas de remettre en question ses actions.

Le gouvernement libéral a fait beaucoup de promesses ces dernières semaines qui coûteront plus de 130 milliards de dollars, creusant encore plus le déficit, afin d’aider les personnes touchées par la pandémie de COVID-19. Même si le gouvernement commence à verser une partie de cet argent, il reste encore trop de Canadiens laissés pour compte.

Nous nous préoccupons particulièrement des entreprises locales.

Les PME emploient environ 70 % de la main-d’œuvre canadienne. Les Canadiens craignent les réductions de salaire et les mises à pied. Les entreprises, petites comme grandes, ont besoin d’aide pour rester en affaires pendant et après la pandémie.

Le gouvernement libéral a annoncé la Subvention salariale d’urgence du Canada (SSUC) qui aidera les entreprises à rester à flot. Il subventionne ainsi 75 % du salaire des employés pour les entreprises qui auraient perdu ou qui s’attendent à perdre 30 % de leur chiffre d’affaires à cause de la pandémie de COVID-19. Les entreprises seraient donc en mesure de garder leurs employés, mais cette aide ne s’est toujours pas matérialisée.

Mardi, le premier ministre a finalement annoncé que les entreprises pourront présenter leur demande de SSUC dès la semaine prochaine. Encore là, celles-ci devront attendre un autre mois avant d’obtenir les fonds.

Beaucoup d’entreprises sont fermées depuis plus d’un mois, et certaines d’entre elles ne rouvriront peut-être jamais leurs portes.

La vie et le gagne-pain des Canadiens dépendent de la manière dont le gouvernement réagit à la crise.

Les parlementaires ont dû retourner deux fois à Ottawa pour réparer les erreurs et les lacunes trouvées dans les mesures législatives concernant la Prestation canadienne d’urgence et la SSUC des libéraux. Il s’agit surtout de divergences entre les propos de Justin Trudeau et la teneur réelle des mesures. Elles sont là même si les conservateurs les avaient signalées et avaient obtenu l’assurance qu’elles seraient réglées.

Une petite entreprise au bord de la faillite ne peut pas attendre des semaines avant d’obtenir la SSUC et encore plus longtemps pour savoir si tout est parfait.

La pandémie de COVID-19 est certainement une crise en santé publique à l’échelle nationale, mais le gouvernement n’a pas carte blanche. Il n’y a aucune excuse pour court-circuiter le Parlement et les processus démocratiques. Afin que les Canadiens obtiennent l’aide dont ils ont vraiment besoin, il doit y avoir une surveillance et une reddition de comptes.

Si votre entreprise est admissible à la SSUC, vous pouvez présenter votre demande dès lundi sur Canada.ca.