Canada Summer Jobs Program Opens for Applications

Steinbach, MB – Ted Falk, Member of Parliament for Provencher, today highlighted the launch of the Canada Summer Jobs (CSJ) 2021 employer application process.

The Canada Summer Jobs program helps to create work opportunities for youth between the ages of 15 and 30 to develop and improve their skills as they transition into the labour market. Eligible employers in the not-for-profit, small business, and public sectors can apply from now until Friday, January 29, 2021.

“Youth trying to find work this past year have faced an unstable economic situation as a result of COVID-19 and the restrictions imposed by governments in response to COVID-19,” said Falk. “Getting our local economy back on track is important, and investing in the training of young people is a key element of our recovery.”

Temporary flexibilities introduced during CSJ 2020 will be applied to CSJ 2021 to help small businesses operate, including:
• a wage subsidy, so that private and public-sector employers can receive up to 75 percent of the provincial minimum hourly wage for each employee (not-for-profit organizations will continue to receive 100 percent);
• an extension to the end date for employment to February 26, 2022; and
• allowing employers to hire staff on a part-time basis.

“The skills young people learn during a summer job help set the stage for a successful future,” Falk added. “I encourage all interested employers to apply.”

For more information or to apply, please visit: www.canada.ca/canadasummerjobs.

Emplois d’été Canada est ouvert aux candidatures

Steinbach, Manitoba – Ted Falk, le député de Provencher, souligne qu’à compter d’aujourd’hui les employeurs peuvent présenter leur candidature pour le programme Emplois d’été Canada 2021.

Emplois d’été Canada crée des possibilités d’emploi pour permettre aux jeunes de 15 à 30 ans de développer leurs compétences et de faciliter leur transition vers le marché du travail. Les employeurs admissibles, soit les organisations sans but lucratif, les petites entreprises et le secteur public peuvent poser leur candidature dès maintenant et jusqu’au vendredi 29 janvier 2021.

« Cette année, les jeunes en recherche d’emploi ont dû composer avec une situation économique instable en raison de la COVID-19 et les restrictions imposées par les gouvernements dans la lutte à la pandémie », a déclaré M. Falk. « Il importe de remettre notre économie locale sur les rails, et investir dans la formation des jeunes constitue un élément clé de la reprise. »

Les assouplissements en aide aux petites entreprises apportés au programme en 2020 seront maintenus en 2021, notamment :
• subvention salariale pour les employeurs des secteurs privé et public jusqu’à hauteur de 75 % du salaire horaire minimum provincial pour chaque employé (le taux reste à 100 % pour les organisations à but non lucratif);
• prolongation de la date de fin d’emploi jusqu’au 26 février 2022;
• autorisation d’embaucher du personnel à temps partiel.

« Les compétences acquises en emploi d’été préparent les jeunes à un avenir prospère », signale M. Falk. « J’incite les employeurs intéressés à postuler. »

Pour plus de renseignements ou pour présenter votre candidature, veuillez consulter le site www.canada.ca/fr/emploi-developpement-social/services/financement/emplois-ete-canada.html.