Falk Takes on New Role on Commons Finance Committee

Ottawa, ON – Provencher MP Ted Falk is pleased to accept a new role on the House of Commons Standing Committee on Finance.

“Serving on the Finance Committee is a big job,” said Falk. “It’s one of those committees that tends to have a higher profile since it’s all about the dollars and cents of government.”

The Committee was front and centre earlier this year when it held televised hearings into the Liberal government’s WE Charity scandal before Justin Trudeau asked the Governor General to prorogue Parliament, shuttering the Committee’s investigation.

The Finance Committee’s mandate includes examining and reporting on all matters referred to it by the House of Commons, the management and operation of the Department of Finance and the Canada Revenue Agency, and conducting pre-budget consultations.

“The Finance Committee plays a particularly critical part in stewarding the nation’s finances,” said Falk. “With Justin Trudeau’s recent Throne Speech making absolutely no effort to establish a clear fiscal framework, we have our work cut out for us.”

“The Liberals spent the cupboards bare before COVID-19,” Falk added. “Now they’re dealing with a national crisis from a position of financial weakness, rather than the position of strength our previous Conservative government left them with. Justin Trudeau sure squandered that in a hurry.”

Falk cited his experience as an entrepreneur and small-business owner, as well as 16 years as President and Board Chair of the Steinbach Credit Union, as assets for the new role.

“I look forward to working alongside my friends and fellow Conservatives Pierre Poilievre, Pat Kelly, and Tamara Jansen,” said Falk. Mr. Poilievre is the Conservative Shadow Minister for Finance and Mr. Kelly is the Shadow Minister for Small Business.

“I’m honoured to accept this new role and get down to work holding the Trudeau Liberals accountable for the financial mess they’ve created.”

Ted Falk se joint au Comité des finances de la Chambre des communes

Ottawa (Ontario) – Ted Falk, député de Provencher, est ravi de se joindre au Comité permanent des finances de la Chambre des communes.

« Siéger au Comité des finances n’est pas une mince affaire, a déclaré M. Falk. Il fait partie des comités qui tendent à avoir une grande visibilité, parce qu’il traite de l’argent du gouvernement. »

Le Comité s’est retrouvé sous les projecteurs plus tôt cette année, lorsqu’il a tenu des séances télévisées sur le scandale UNIS impliquant le gouvernement libéral, avant que Justin Trudeau demande à la gouverneure générale de proroger le Parlement, mettant ainsi fin à l’enquête du Comité.

Le mandat du Comité des finances consiste notamment à examiner toute question que lui renvoie la Chambre des communes et toutes les questions relatives à l’administration et au fonctionnement du ministère des Finances et de l’Agence du revenu du Canada et à en faire rapport, ainsi qu’à mener des consultations prébudgétaires.

« Le Comité des finances joue un rôle absolument essentiel dans la gestion des finances du pays, a affirmé M. Falk. Comme Justin Trudeau n’a aucunement essayé d’établir un cadre financier clair dans son dernier discours du Trône, nous avons du pain sur la planche. »

« Les libéraux ont vidé la tirelire avant la pandémie de COVID 19, a ajouté M. Falk. Maintenant, ils font face à une crise nationale à partir d’une position de faiblesse financière, plutôt que de la position de force que le gouvernement conservateur précédent leur avait laissée. Justin Trudeau n’a pas perdu de temps pour tout gaspiller. »

M. Falk a souligné que son expérience d’entrepreneur et de propriétaire de petite entreprise, ainsi que ses 16 années comme président et président du conseil d’administration de la Steinbach Credit Union l’aideront à bien remplir son nouveau rôle.

« J’ai hâte de travailler aux côtés de mes amis et collègues conservateurs Pierre Poilievre, Pat Kelly et Tamara Jansen », a dit M. Falk. M. Poilievre est ministre du cabinet fantôme conservateur pour les finances et M. Kelly est ministre du cabinet fantôme pour la petite entreprise.

« C’est un honneur pour moi d’accepter ce nouveau rôle et de m’atteler à la tâche de demander des comptes aux libéraux de Justin Trudeau par rapport au désastre financier qu’ils ont causé. »