Statement on the Passing of His Royal Highness Prince Philip

Steinbach, MB – Ted Falk, Member of Parliament for Provencher, issued the following statement on the passing of His Royal Highness Prince Philip:

“Today Canadians woke up to the sad news that His Royal Highness, Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, had passed away.

“Throughout his life, His Royal Highness served the United Kingdom, Canada, and the Commonwealth with distinction. In 1951, he began meeting with Canada officially when he accompanied then-Princess Elizabeth on the first of many Canadian tours. Over his lifetime, he would visit Canada on over 60 occasions.

“Prince Philip’s life was marked by loyalty and honour. As the longest-serving royal consort in British history, countless individuals have been touched by his dedicated service, his quick wit, and his common touch. His legacy will live on in all the lives he bettered during his lifetime, including through his many charitable endeavours.

“My deepest condolences go out to Her Majesty the Queen, and her family, as they mourn the loss of their husband, father, and grandfather. May God bless and sustain the family in this time of mourning.

“God save the Queen.”

Déclaration à la suite du décès de Son Altesse Royale le prince Philippe

Steinbach (Manitoba) – Ted Falk, député de Provencher, a fait la déclaration suivante à la suite du décès de Son Altesse Royale le prince Philippe :

« Aujourd’hui, les Canadiens ont appris à leur réveil la triste nouvelle du décès de Son Altesse Royale le prince Philippe, duc d’Édimbourg.

« Durant toute sa vie, Son Altesse Royale a servi le Royaume-Uni, le Canada et le Commonwealth avec distinction. En 1951, il est venu au Canada pour la première fois en voyage officiel lorsqu’il a accompagné la princesse Elizabeth lors de la première de ses nombreuses visites au Canada. Au cours de sa vie, il visitera le Canada à plus de 60 reprises.

« La vie du prince Philip a été marquée par la loyauté et l’honneur. En tant que consort royal ayant servi le plus longtemps dans l’histoire de la Grande-Bretagne, d’innombrables personnes ont été touchées par son service dévoué, son esprit vif et son sens commun. Son héritage perdurera dans toutes les vies qu’il a améliorées au cours de sa vie, notamment grâce à ses nombreux projets caritatifs.

« Mes plus sincères condoléances à Sa Majesté la Reine et à sa famille, qui pleurent la perte d’un mari, d’un père et d’un grand-père. Que Dieu bénisse et soutienne la famille en cette période de deuil. »

« Dieu protège la reine. »