MP Ted Falk Affirms Opposition to Liberal Carbon Tax

Steinbach, MB – Ted Falk, Member of Parliament for Provencher, issued the following statement following the Supreme Court ruling on the Liberal carbon tax:

“In a 6-3 split decision, the Supreme Court of Canada has ruled that the Liberal government’s federal carbon tax law is constitutional. While imposing a carbon tax may be constitutional, this does not mean it’s the best approach.

“Conservatives know protecting the environment is possible without asking struggling families to pay more. That’s why we are committed to repealing the Liberal carbon tax.

“The Supreme Court decision recognized that policies related to emissions reduction touch on areas of federal and provincial jurisdiction. Rather than the punitive Liberal approach, Conservatives will take a collaborative approach to protecting Canada’s natural environment while also allowing for a strong economic recovery.

“Conservatives have already introduced several common-sense bills in the House of Commons to address environmental challenges. I’m pleased to be supporting legislation like Bill C-204, which addresses the proper disposal of plastic waste, and Bill C-269, which will prevent the dumping of raw sewage into Canadian waterways. Conservatives will continue to present constructive solutions on behalf of Canadians.”

Le député Ted Falk réitère son opposition à la taxe sur le carbone des libéraux

Steinbach, Manitoba – Ted Falk, député de Provencher, a fait la déclaration suivante après la décision de la Cour suprême concernant la taxe sur le carbone :

« Dans une décision partagée de six voix contre trois, la Cour suprême du Canada a déterminé que la loi fédérale sur la taxe sur le carbone du gouvernement libéral est constitutionnelle. Bien que l’imposition d’une taxe sur le carbone puisse être constitutionnelle, cela ne signifie pas qu’elle constitue la meilleure approche.

Les conservateurs savent qu’il est possible de protéger l’environnement sans appauvrir davantage les familles en difficulté. C’est pourquoi nous sommes déterminés à abroger la taxe sur le carbone des libéraux.

La décision de la Cour suprême a reconnu que les politiques liées à la réduction des émissions touchent à des domaines de compétence fédérale et provinciale. Au lieu de l’approche punitive des libéraux, les conservateurs adopteront une approche collaborative pour protéger l’environnement naturel du Canada tout en permettant une reprise économique vigoureuse.

Les conservateurs ont déjà présenté plusieurs projets de loi sensés à la Chambre des communes pour relever les défis environnementaux. Je suis heureux d’appuyer des projets de loi comme le projet de loi C-204, qui porte sur l’élimination appropriée des déchets de plastique, et le projet de loi C-269, qui empêchera le déversement d’eaux usées brutes dans les cours d’eau canadiens. Les conservateurs continueront de proposer des solutions constructives au nom des Canadiens. »