Statement on Proposed Mandatory Hotel Quarantine

Ottawa, ON – Ted Falk, Member of Parliament for Provencher, responded today to the Liberal government’s proposed mandatory hotel quarantine for Canadians re-entering Canada:

“Last week, the Liberals announced that they intend to require ‘all air travellers arriving in Canada, with very limited exceptions’ to quarantine in a Government of Canada-designated hotel for three nights at their own cost, and take a COVID-19 molecular test on arrival at their own cost.’

“This came the same week as Manitoba’s Provincial Government hit Manitobans with their own set of new interprovincial travel restrictions.

“Canadians have made many sacrifices to help governments respond to COVID-19. After a full year, governments are still regularly imposing new – and often confusing – restrictions on Canadians.

“More restrictions are not a solution. Lockdowns and restrictions were enacted to buy governments time to find permanent solutions. Rapid testing, vaccines, variant testing capacity, therapeutics — these tools all now exist. We should be using these tools to reduce or eliminate quarantine times, like our allies around the world are doing, not adding new restrictions. The problem is Justin Trudeau has failed to procure and deploy the necessary tools to make this possible.

“As with the majority of what the Liberal government has done in the past year, we have long delays followed by knee jerk reactions, then band aid ‘solutions’, announced and enacted before anybody seems to have thought through the potential consequences. As such, they tend to just add to the chaos.

“It is clear the Liberals will continue demanding sacrifices from Canadians because they have failed to provide the tools necessary to ease restrictions while protecting the vulnerable.

“I call on the Prime Minister to recognize the tremendous sacrifices already made by Canadians, take responsibility for his own failures, and reverse this decision.”

Déclaration sur la proposition de quarantaine obligatoire à l’hôtel

Ottawa (Ontario) – Ted Falk, député de Provencher, a réagi hier à la proposition du gouvernement libéral d’imposer une quarantaine obligatoire aux Canadiens qui rentrent au Canada :

« La semaine dernière, les libéraux ont annoncé leur intention d’exiger que “tous les voyageurs aériens arrivant au Canada, à quelques rares exceptions, effectuent une réservation pour rester trois nuits à l’un des hôtels approuvés par le gouvernement du Canada, et ce, à leurs frais. Ils devront également subir, à leurs frais, un test de dépistage moléculaire de la COVID-19 à leur arrivée”.

La même semaine où cette mesure a été annoncée, le gouvernement du Manitoba a imposé aux Manitobains de nouvelles restrictions sur les déplacements interprovinciaux.

Les Canadiens font de nombreux sacrifices pour aider les gouvernements à lutter contre la COVID 19. Après un an, les gouvernements imposent encore régulièrement aux Canadiens de nouvelles restrictions, qui sèment souvent la confusion.

Multiplier les restrictions, ce n’est pas la solution. Les gouvernements ont imposé des confinements et des restrictions pour se donner le temps de trouver des solutions permanentes. Dépistage rapide, vaccins, capacité de dépistage des nouveaux variants, traitements : tous les outils existent maintenant. Nous devrions y avoir recours pour réduire ou éliminer les périodes de quarantaine, comme le font nos alliés étrangers, plutôt que d’imposer de nouvelles restrictions. Le problème, c’est que Justin Trudeau n’a pas acquis ni déployé les outils nécessaires pour que cela soit possible.

Le gouvernement libéral, comme pour presque tout ce qu’il fait depuis la dernière année, met du temps avant de réagir de façon irréfléchie, puis improvise une solution qu’il annonce et adopte avant même qu’on ait songé aux conséquences éventuelles. Les libéraux ne font qu’ajouter à la confusion.

De toute évidence, les libéraux continueront de demander aux Canadiens de faire des sacrifices, car ils ne fournissent pas les outils nécessaires pour assouplir les restrictions et protéger les personnes vulnérables.

Je demande au premier ministre de reconnaître les énormes sacrifices que font déjà les Canadiens, d’assumer la responsabilité de ses échecs et de revenir sur sa décision. »