Statement on Jody Wilson-Raybould’s Decision Not to Seek Re-election

Steinbach, MB – Ted Falk, Member of Parliament for Provencher, issued the following statement in response to the news that his parliamentary colleague, the Hon. Jody Wilson-Raybould, has decided not to run in the next federal election:

“Jody Wilson-Raybould has served Canadians as a prosecutor, Member of Parliament, and Cabinet Minister, as well as serving her community as a regional Chief. Her decision not to seek re-election is a loss for the House of Commons and a loss for Canada.

“Jody Wilson-Raybould came to Parliament to serve her community and her constituents. As a senior cabinet minister—Canada’s first Indigenous Justice Minister and Attorney General— she swore an oath to serve Canadians and uphold the rule of law in our land. When pressured by the Prime Minster, and others in her party, to inappropriately intervene in the ongoing criminal prosecution of SNC-Lavalin, Jody Wilson-Raybould chose, instead, to honour her oath and serve the interests of Canadians. For this brave act she was first demoted and later kicked out of the Liberal caucus.

“This was shameful treatment of an honorable colleague and dedicated public servant by a Prime Minster and Liberal Party who believe themselves to be above the law.

“In an open letter to her constituents, she writes: ‘From my seat over the past six years, I have noticed a change in Parliament, a regression. It has become more toxic and ineffective while simultaneously marginalizing individuals of certain backgrounds.’

“While I still believe in our parliamentary system, I can certainly understand her perspective and the growing cynicism of many Canadians.

“While she and I often disagreed on the issues, I know her to be an intelligent, thoughtful, respectful parliamentarian, and, above all, a person of honesty and integrity. In this, Jody Wilson-Raybould was, and remains, a role model for Indigenous and non-Indigenous Canadians, alike.

“Her voice will be greatly missed in the House of Commons.”

Déclaration sur la décision de Jody Wilson-Raybould de ne pas chercher à se faire réélire

Steinbach (Manitoba) – Ted Falk, député de Provencher, a fait la déclaration suivante en réponse à la nouvelle selon laquelle sa collègue parlementaire, l’honorable Jody Wilson-Raybould, a décidé de ne pas se présenter aux prochaines élections fédérales :

« Jody Wilson-Raybould a servi les Canadiens en tant que procureure, députée et ministre du Cabinet, ainsi que sa communauté en tant que chef régionale. Sa décision de ne pas se représenter aux élections est une perte pour la Chambre des communes et une perte pour le Canada.

« Jody Wilson-Raybould est venue au Parlement pour servir sa communauté et ses électeurs. En tant que ministre principale du Cabinet, la première ministre de la Justice et procureure générale autochtone du Canada, elle a prêté serment de servir les Canadiens et de faire respecter la primauté du droit dans notre pays. Lorsque le premier ministre et d’autres membres de son parti ont exercé des pressions pour qu’elle intervienne de façon inappropriée dans la poursuite criminelle en cours contre SNC-Lavalin, Jody Wilson-Raybould a plutôt choisi d’honorer son serment et de servir les intérêts des Canadiens. Pour cet acte de bravoure, elle a d’abord été rétrogradée, puis expulsée du caucus libéral.

« Il s’agit d’un traitement honteux d’une collègue honorable et d’une fonctionnaire dévouée infligé par un premier ministre et un parti libéral qui se croient au-dessus de la loi.

« Dans une lettre ouverte adressée à ses électeurs, elle a écrit : “De mon siège, au cours des six dernières années, j’ai remarqué un changement au Parlement, une régression. Il est devenu plus toxique et inefficace tout en marginalisant simultanément les individus de certains milieux.”

« Bien que je croie toujours en notre système parlementaire, je peux certainement comprendre son point de vue et le cynisme croissant de nombreux Canadiens.

« Même si elle et moi étions souvent en désaccord sur de nombreux sujets, je sais qu’elle était une parlementaire intelligente, réfléchie, respectueuse et, surtout, une personne honnête et intègre. En cela, Jody Wilson-Raybould était, et demeure, un modèle pour les Canadiens autochtones et non autochtones.

« Sa voix nous manquera beaucoup à la Chambre des communes. »