Steady Hand in an Unsteady World

Strong Leadership

Economy

We as Canadians are fortunate to live in a country such as ours. When compared to many places around the world, we are blessed with prosperity, natural resources and security. Although we have enjoyed these privileges as Canadians, we know that we are not immune to the threats that exist beyond our borders.

The global economy remains fragile and is being affected by the global oil prices, the European debt crisis, and China’s economic slowdown. In light of this reality, our Government remains steadfast in our economic plans where we are making investments in infrastructure, lowering taxes, balancing the budget, and supporting growth in the manufacturing sector. Additionally our low-tax plan is saving the average Canadian approximately $6500 per year. In fact, on July 20th all Canadian families with children will be receiving their lump sum Universal Child Care Benefit payment.

With a steady fiscal policy, we will not spiral ourselves into deficit. As we see in Greece, uncontrolled government spending leads to disastrous outcomes.

Unfortunately opposition parties do not share our views on the economy as they continue to promote some of the very policies that lead Greece to its financial troubles. Additionally, in 2012, the opposition insisted that our Government join the list of countries who used taxpayer`s money to help bail out Greece.

I am thankful that Canada did not participate as many of those countries are still out billions of dollars. As a Member of Parliament I believe that taxpayers` money must be respected.

National Security

Although the economy remains our top priority, we as a government remain vigilant in keeping Canadians safe.

On Friday July 10th, the RCMP Integrated National Security Enforcement Team (INSET) in British Columbia arrested Othman Ayed Hamdan, 33 years old, of Fort St. John, B.C. Mr. Hamdan was charged with 6 counts of terrorism-related offences for his support of ISIS. He is currently being held in custody and is due to appear in court shortly. The offences include: counselling to commit murder for the benefit of a terrorist group; counselling to assault causing bodily harm for the benefit of a terrorist group; and counselling to commit aggravated assault, for the benefit of a terrorist group.

I commend the RCMP for their work in making this arrest. This is a further reminder of the serious threat that jihadi terrorists pose to Canada. We cannot ignore this threat from terror groups such as ISIS and I commend security agencies such as the RCMP for taking seriously the safety of Canadians.

Maintenir le cap dans la tempête

Strong Leadership

Économie

Nous, les Canadiens, sommes chanceux de vivre dans un pays comme le nôtre. Contrairement à de nombreux endroits dans le monde, nous avons la bonne fortune de posséder prospérité, ressources naturelles et sécurité. Bien que nous ayons profité de ces privilèges, nous savons que nous ne sommes pas à l’abri des menaces qui existent hors de nos frontières.

L’économie mondiale demeure fragile et est touchée par les prix mondiaux du pétrole, la crise de la dette européenne et le ralentissement économique de la Chine. À la lumière de cette réalité, notre gouvernement est demeuré fidèle à son plan économique : nous avons investi dans l’infrastructure, baissé les impôts, équilibré le budget et soutenu la croissance du secteur manufacturier. En outre, nos baisses d’impôt ont fait épargner au Canadien moyen environ 6 500 $ par année. En fait, le 20 juillet, toutes les familles canadiennes avec des enfants recevront leur paiement forfaitaire dans le cadre de la Prestation universelle pour la garde d’enfants.

Grâce à une politique budgétaire ferme, nous éviterons la spirale du déficit. Comme le démontre la situation de la Grèce, des dépenses gouvernementales incontrôlées ne peuvent mener qu’au désastre.

Malheureusement, les partis de l’opposition ne partagent pas notre avis sur l’économie et continuent à appuyer certaines des politiques qui ont mené la Grèce au gouffre financier. En outre, en 2012, l’opposition a insisté pour que notre gouvernement se joigne aux pays qui ont utilisé l’argent de leurs contribuables pour aider à renflouer la Grèce.

Je suis heureux que le Canada n’ait pas participé à ce sauvetage, étant donné que de nombreux pays y ont perdu des milliards de dollars. À titre de député, je crois qu’il faut respecter l’argent des contribuables.

Sécurité nationale

Bien que l’économie demeure notre principale priorité, le gouvernement doit demeurer vigilant afin d’assurer la sécurité de la population canadienne.

Le vendredi 10 juillet dernier, en Colombie-Britannique, l’équipe intégrée de la sécurité nationale (EISN) de la GRC a arrêté Othman Ayed Hamdan, 33 ans, de Fort St. John, en Colombie-Britannique. M. Hamdan a été inculpé de six chefs d’accusation relativement à des infractions de terrorisme pour son soutien au groupe armé État islamique. Il est actuellement détenu et comparaîtra sous peu. Il est notamment accusé d’avoir conseillé à une autre personne de commettre, au profit d’un groupe terroriste, un meurtre, des voies de fait causant des lésions corporelles et des voies de fait graves.

Je félicite la GRC pour le bon travail qui a mené à cette arrestation. Cela nous rappelle encore une fois que la menace posée par le djihad terroriste est sérieuse. Nous ne pouvons ignorer les menaces de groupes terroristes comme l’État islamique et je salue le travail des agences de sécurité, comme la GRC, qui prennent la sécurité des Canadiens au sérieux.