Supporting Workers Impacted by COVID-19

If you have stopped working because of COVID-19, the new Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB) may be for you. Through the CERB, eligible individuals can receive $500 a week for up to 16 weeks to help you stay afloat during these difficult times.

The Benefit is available for workers who have stopped working because of COVID-19 and have not voluntarily quit their job or are eligible for Employment Insurance regular or sickness benefits, those who had an income of at least $5,000 in 2019 or in the 12 months prior to the date of their application, and those who are or expect to be without employment or self-employment income for at least 14 consecutive days in the initial four-week period.

The Benefit is open to applications as of Monday, April 6. To help manage the delivery of support, please use the following guidelines: For those born in the months of January through March, please apply on Mondays. For those born in April through June, please apply on Tuesdays. For those born in July through September, please apply on Wednesdays. And for those born in October through December, please apply on Thursdays. Anyone can apply on Fridays through Sundays.

If you have already applied for Employment Insurance (EI) benefits since March 15, or if you are already receiving EI payments, you will be automatically enrolled in the CERB.

Those who wish to apply can visit canada.ca/en/services/benefits/ei/cerb-application. If applying by phone, call toll-free at 1-800-959-2019.

In order to provide you with a one-stop shop for COVID-19 information, my office has put together a resource library which you can find here.

Aider les travailleurs qui subissent les contrecoups de la pandémie

Si vous avez cessé de travailler à cause de la pandémie, vous avez peut-être droit à la Prestation canadienne d’urgence. Grâce à elle, les personnes admissibles reçoivent 500 $ par semaine pour un maximum de 16 semaines afin de rester à flot durant ces temps difficiles.

La Prestation est offerte aux travailleurs qui ont arrêté de travailler à cause de la pandémie et qui n’ont pas démissionné volontairement ou qui sont admissibles aux prestations régulières ou de maladie de l’assurance-emploi; aux travailleurs qui ont gagné un revenu d’au moins 5000 $ en 2019 ou dans les 12 mois précédant leur demande; aux travailleurs qui sont, ou qui prévoient être, sans revenu d’emploi ou de travail indépendant pendant 14 jours consécutifs au cours de la période initiale de quatre semaines.

On peut présenter sa demande à compter du lundi 6 avril. Pour faciliter le versement des prestations, il faut suivre les instructions suivantes. D’abord, les personnes nées de janvier à mars présentent leur demande les lundis. Ensuite, les personnes nées d’avril à juin, présentent la leur les mardis. Les personnes nées de juillet à septembre le font les mercredis, et celles nées d’octobre à décembre, les jeudis. Tout le monde peut envoyer sa demande les vendredis, samedis et dimanches.

Si vous avez demandé des prestations d’assurance-emploi avant le 15 mars ou si vous en recevez déjà, vous serez automatiquement inscrit pour la Prestation canadienne d’urgence.

Pour faire une demande en ligne, rendez-vous à https://www.canada.ca/fr/services/prestations/ae/pcusc-application.html. Si vous préférez le faire par téléphone, composez le numéro sans frais 1-800-959-2019.

Mon bureau a mis en place à votre intention un guichet unique d’information sur la COVID-19 où vous trouverez une multitude de ressources et qui se trouve ici.