Trudeau Wastes Canadians’ Time

Last week Prime Minister Justin Trudeau presented his government’s highly anticipated Throne Speech and made a rare televised address to the nation. The reviews of both the speech and the address came fast and were almost unanimous: what a waste of time.

After wasting six weeks—with Parliament prorogued—where he could have worked with Parliament on real solutions for Canadians, Justin Trudeau failed to offer a clear path forward.

As a result, Canadians continue to face significant uncertainty, and many struggle to make ends meet.

The speech itself was full of Liberal buzzwords, in fact the Throne Speech—possibly the most important in our nation’s recent history—did little but trot out promises the Liberals have been making since the mid 90’s.

The Speech failed to paint a clear picture of how the Liberals intend to keep Canadians healthy while ensuring Canada’s swift economic recovery following the impact of COVID-19.

The Speech failed to demonstrate how the Liberals will move from words to action at a time when Canadians gravely need the latter.

In particular, the Liberals ignored a key request from provincial premiers, including Manitoba Premier Brian Pallister, to increase funding for health care services. Instead of providing provinces with the resources they need to keep their citizens healthy, the Liberals continued to display an “Ottawa-knows-best” attitude that will see more decisions taken by the federal government, far away from those most impacted by their choices.

The Speech was also silent on addressing the combined impact of COVID-19 and the Liberal Carbon Tax on our agriculture sector and failed to respond to growing concerns about western alienation and national unity.

There was also no effort made to establish a clear fiscal framework as Justin Trudeau racks up record debt, asking the generations of tomorrow to pay his bills today.

Justin Trudeau’s failure to address these important issues made it impossible to support his Throne Speech.

Likewise, his national address held nothing new or of substance—unless you count the PM’s misguided attempt to cancel Thanksgiving. Just the same fearmongering mixed with Liberal talking points that have permeated Canadian media for the past seven months. In fact, most commentators, agreed that the “address” contained “absolutely nothing that couldn’t have been announced in any normal press briefing” or dare I say, the House of Commons—assuming he still remembers where that is.

As one commentator put it: “Trudeau’s speech was not only unnecessary, it was bizarre.”

Another compared it to a sitcom speech, calling it “glib, compelling and meaningless,” going on to say the speech sounded “pretty good, until you give it the bare minimum of critical thought.”

It was all a typically Trudeau waste of time, long on style and short on substance.

Canadians deserve better.

Under the leadership of Erin O’Toole, Canada’s Conservatives are offering a serious, compassionate, and ethical government-in-waiting. A government that has the back of Canadians. We will continue to fight for a credible plan to keep Canadians safe and aid our economic recovery.

Justin Trudeau gaspille le temps des Canadiens

La semaine dernière, le premier ministre Justin Trudeau a présenté le très attendu discours du Trône de son gouvernement et a prononcé un rare discours télévisé devant la nation. L’examen du discours et de l’allocution a été rapide et presque unanime : quelle perte de temps.

Après avoir perdu six semaines, avec la prorogation du Parlement, où il aurait pu travailler avec le Parlement sur de véritables solutions pour les Canadiens, Justin Trudeau n’a pas réussi à proposer une voie à suivre claire.

En conséquence les Canadiens continuent de faire face à une grande incertitude et beaucoup d’entre eux ont du mal à joindre les deux bouts.

Le discours lui-même était rempli de slogans libéraux, en fait le discours du Trône — probablement le plus important de l’histoire récente de notre pays — ne faisait que répéter les promesses que les libéraux avaient faites depuis le milieu des années 90.

Le discours n’a pas su donner une image claire de la manière dont les libéraux entendent préserver la santé des Canadiens tout en assurant la relance économique rapide du Canada suite à la pandémie de COVID-19.

Le discours n’a pas su démontrer la façon dont les libéraux vont passer de la parole aux actes, à un moment où les Canadiens en ont grandement besoin.
En particulier, les libéraux ont ignoré une demande clé des premiers ministres provinciaux, dont le premier ministre du Manitoba Brian Pallister, d’augmenter le financement des services de soins de santé. Au lieu de fournir aux provinces les ressources dont elles ont besoin pour maintenir leurs citoyens en bonne santé, les libéraux ont continué à afficher une attitude « Ottawa sait tout » qui verra le gouvernement fédéral prendre davantage de décisions, loin des personnes les plus touchées par leurs choix.
Le discours n’a pas, non plus, abordé l’impact combiné de la COVID-19 et de la taxe libérale sur le carbone sur notre secteur agricole et n’a pas répondu aux préoccupations croissantes concernant l’aliénation de l’Ouest et l’unité nationale.

Aucun effort n’a été fait, non plus, pour établir un calendrier financier clair, alors que Justin Trudeau s’endette de façon record et demande aux générations de demain de payer ses factures d’aujourd’hui.

L’incapacité de Justin Trudeau à aborder ces questions importantes a rendu impossible le soutien de son discours du Trône.

De même, son discours national n’apportait rien de nouveau ni de substantiel, à moins que vous ne comptiez la tentative malencontreuse du premier ministre d’annuler l’Action de grâce. C’est exactement le même discours alarmiste, mêlé aux discours des libéraux, qui a imprégné les médias canadiens tout au long des sept derniers mois. En fait la plupart des commentateurs ont convenu que « l’allocution » ne contenait « absolument rien qui n’aurait pu être annoncé lors d’un point de presse normal » ou, oserais-je dire, à la Chambre des communes, en présumant qu’il se souvient encore de l’endroit où elle se trouve.

Comme l’a dit un commentateur : « Le discours de Trudeau n’était pas seulement inutile, il était bizarre. »

Un autre l’a comparé à un discours de sitcom, le qualifiant de « désinvolte, convaincant et dénué de sens », ajoutant que le discours sonnait « plutôt bien, jusqu’à ce que vous lui accordiez le strict minimum de réflexion critique ».

C’était une perte de temps typique de la part de Justin Trudeau, avec beaucoup de style et peu de substance.

Les Canadiens méritent mieux.

Sous la direction d’Erin O’Toole, les conservateurs du Canada offrent un gouvernement sérieux, compatissant et éthique. Un gouvernement qui a le soutien des Canadiens. Nous continuerons à nous battre pour offrir un plan crédible visant à assurer la sécurité des Canadiens et à contribuer à la relance économique.