Trudeau’s Third Strike

This is starting to sound all too familiar.

First Justin Trudeau was found guilty of an ethics violation for accepting a paid vacation on a luxury island. Then he was found guilty for his involvement in the SNC-Lavalin scandal. Now he is under investigation yet again for handing a $900 million contract to a charity that not only had close ties to the Liberal Party, but which paid his family almost $300,000 to appear at its events.

Both Justin Trudeau and Finance Minister Bill Morneau failed to recuse themselves from cabinet discussions regarding the contract – despite both having close family ties to the charity. Worse yet, the Prime Minister told Canadians that this particular organization, WE Charity, was the only one that could do the job. Even if that were true – which it’s not – it doesn’t excuse the government from ensuring a government contract is awarded in a fair and transparent manner. This is basic accountability.

This is the third ethics scandal Justin Trudeau has faced in the last three years. In other instances, he has tried hard to dodge accountability and failed to take responsibility for his actions. But this is his third strike. It’s long past time for him to stand before Canadians and fully explain his actions.

That’s why Conservatives are calling for all of the documents related to the contract to be made public. Every single Cabinet Minster must answer for their part in approving this massive contract. The Ethics Commissioner, the Finance Committee, and the Government Operations Committee must all accelerate their investigations into this case. The Ethics Committee must reconvene to hear from witnesses. In addition, the Auditor General and the Procurement Ombudsman must investigate.

Canadians deserve answers. The Prime Minister and his Liberal government must be held accountable.

La troisième prise de Trudeau

Ça commence à devenir beaucoup trop familier.

Pour commencer, Justin Trudeau a été reconnu coupable d’une infraction à l’éthique parce qu’il a accepté des vacances payées sur une île luxueuse. Il a ensuite été reconnu coupable pour son implication dans le scandale SNC-Lavalin. Il fait maintenant l’objet d’une enquête pour avoir accordé un contrat de 900 millions de dollars à un organisme de bienfaisance qui non seulement est étroitement lié au Parti libéral, mais qui versé près de 300 000 $ à sa famille pour qu’elle assiste à des événements.

Justin Trudeau et le ministre des Finances Bill Morneau ont refusé de se récuser des discussions du Cabinet sur le contrat, même si les deux hommes ont d’étroits liens familiaux avec l’organisme en question. Pire encore, le premier ministre a dit aux Canadiens que cet organisme, WE Charity, était le seul qui pouvait faire le travail. Même si c’est vrai – ce qui n’est pas le cas – ça n’empêche pas le gouvernement d’assurer que ce contrat gouvernemental est accordé de manière juste et transparente. C’est la responsabilisation de base.

C’est le troisième scandale éthique auquel Justin Trudeau fait face en trois ans. Les autres fois, il a refusé d’assumer la responsabilité de ses actes. Mais c’est sa troisième prise. Il est plus que temps qu’il se présente devant les Canadiens et qu’il explique pleinement ses agissements.

C’est pourquoi les conservateurs exigent que tous les documents relatifs au contrat soient rendus publics. Chaque ministre du Cabinet doit indiquer le rôle qu’il a joué dans l’approbation de cet important contrat. Le commissaire à l’éthique, le Comité des finances et le Comité des opérations gouvernementales doivent tous accélérer leurs enquêtes sur cette affaire. Le Comité de l’éthique doit être convoqué pour entendre des témoins. De plus, la vérificatrice générale et l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement doivent faire enquête.

Les Canadiens méritent des réponses. Le premier ministre et son gouvernement libéral doivent rendre des comptes.